Different Stages of Chronic Kidney Disease

Different Stages of Chronic Kidney Disease.

Chronic kidney disease is a serious medical condition that affects millions of people worldwide. It occurs when the kidneys gradually lose their ability to filter waste products and excess fluids from the blood.

Circled Dot

The first different stages of chronic kidney disease are often asymptomatic, making it challenging to diagnose without routine medical check-ups. Kidney function remains relatively normal during this stage, but there may be underlying kidney damage.

Early Detection and Intervention:

In Stage 2, kidney function starts to decline further, with a GFR ranging from 60 to 89 mL/min. While the kidneys are still able to perform their essential functions, there may be mild symptoms that start to appear.

Mild Decrease in Kidney Function:

As chronic kidney disease progresses to Stage 3, kidney function is significantly impaired, with a GFR between 30 and 59 mL/min. In Stage 3a, the GFR ranges from 45 to 59 mL/min, while Stage 3b has a GFR between 30 and 44 mL/min.

Circled Dot
Circled Dot

Moderate Decrease in Kidney Function:

Stage 4 is a critical phase of chronic kidney disease, a part of the different stages of chronic kidney disease, with a GFR ranging from 15 to 29 mL/min. Patients at this stage may experience a significant deterioration in kidney function and often require medical intervention.

Severe Kidney Function Decline:


70, Josier Street,Nungambakkam, Chennai-600034.

+91 44690 39999 +91 72990 78999 www.vinitahealth.com